Word Power Grand Slam Finals
Presented By The JVN Project with support from Overture Center

Word Power Grand Slam Finals

Fri, Apr 28

Promenade Hall: Free


All Ages

After six months of writing, practicing, performing, and competing, the top 18 youth poets will put it all on the line for the Grand Slam City Finals.

The top 18 youth poets in Madison compete in the Word Power Qualifying Slams a chance to represent their city at the 20th Annual Brave New Voices International Youth Poetry Festival in San Francisco, CA! This is the first time Madison will have a team of its own in over 10 years.

This event is a two round poetry slam (with all 18 poets in the first round and ten advancing to the second round). Students must perform two original poems that are no longer than three minutes and thirty seconds. Their poems will be judged be a panel of five people on a scale of 0-10 with the highest and lowest scores dropped and the three in the middle added together ( perfect score being 30.0). The top six students in the slam will earn spots to represent Madison in San Francisco.

October’s Winners:
Journey Henderson (East HS)
Malkia Mshairi (MATC)
Yuliana Nava (East HS)

November’s Winners:
Ariana (Memorial HS)
Eva Lazarus (O’Keeffe MS)
Omar Wilson (East HS)

December’s Winners:
Blue Campbell (Shabazz HS)
Ella Dietz (East HS)
Daniel Gengenbach (O’Keeffe MS)
Otto Smith (East HS)

January’s Winners:
Ari (Memorial HS)
Luna Abresh (Shabazz HS)

February’s Winners:
Denelle Chavarria (O’Keeffe MS)
Hazel Jacobson (O’Keeffe MS)
Zane Jasenski (O’Keeffe MS)

March’s Winners:
Alex Davis (East HS)
Elijah Holmes (East HS)
Olivia (Sherman MS)

This event is presented by The JVN Project with support from Overture Center and hosted by Darian Wilson & Zhalarina Sanders accompanied by the amazing house band, The S.O.U.L.M.E.N.!

This event is FREE and open to the public but space is limited. Seating will be offered on a first-come, first-served basis and doors open at 6:30 PM.

Let’s pack the house to come support these young, amazing poets!