Wisconsin Chamber Orchestra presents The Musician Sessions II: Bohemian Blueprint
Presented By Wisconsin Chamber Orchestra

Wisconsin Chamber Orchestra

The Musician Sessions II: Bohemian Blueprint

Fri, Feb 18 - Mon, Feb 21, 2022

Livestream Event
Buy Tickets Promo Code

Fri 02/18/22 7:30 PM


In Progress

BuyPromo Code

Running Time:

40 minutes


All Ages

This is an online on-demand concert.
Ticket holders will receive 72-hour password access to the digital concert.


BOLOGNE | String Quartet No. 5, Op. 1
I.Allegro II.Rondeau

GARROP | Bohemian Café 

SHAW | Blueprint 
SPOHR | Nonet in F major, Op. 31

The Musician Sessions are an eclectic array of music performed in traditional and unusual ensembles, solo percussion to trios, quartets, quintets, and nonets. We encourage you to get closer to the musicians of the WCO in this highly collaborative and personal digital concert series.

Bohemian Blueprint takes its title from two works on this program which features three living women composers. Stacy Garrop’s Bohemian Café is a wind quintet with bass in a popular style and Caroline Shaw’s Blueprint for string quartet, a rigorous and engaging tour de force.

We open with a string quartet by the eighteen century Afro-French composer Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges, a contemporary of Mozart and virtuoso violinist, composer, and champion fencer. 

We conclude with the early nineteenth century German composer Louis Spohr’s Nonet for a combination of strings and woodwind quintet. A contemporary of Beethoven, he wrote over 18 violin concerti, symphonies, operas, chamber works and did much to develop string technique in the early nineteenth century with over 200 students in his lifetime. The Nonet is a grand work with virtuoso writing for all the instruments.