Madison Symphony Orchestra - String Spirit
Presented By Madison Symphony Orchestra

Madison Symphony Orchestra

String Spirit

Fri, Sep 24 - Sat, Sep 25

Overture Hall: $20 - $60
Buy Tickets Promo Code

Fri 09/24/21 7:30 PM


In Progress

BuyPromo Code
Sat 09/25/21 8:00 PM


In Progress

BuyPromo Code


Ages 6 and up

Two performances of the new concerts will take place in Overture Hall. Seating in the first four sections will be offered, Orchestra, Parterre, Circle, and Mezzanine (the Balcony will be closed). Ticket prices are $20, 40 and $60. 21/22 Symphony season subscribers can purchase tickets for 50% off (subscribers will be sent a discount code). The concert duration will be approximately 90 minutes — presented without an intermission.

Single tickets for “String Spirit” will go on sale beginning TUE, SEP 7 at 11 AM through the Overture Center Box Office. Tickets can be purchased online, in-person or by phone during Box Office hours.

Please note that tickets for “Joyful Reunion, Beethoven’s Ninth” cannot be used for this new concert. All ticketholders for the “Joyful Reunion, Beethoven’s Ninth” concerts will be sent refunds for the value of the tickets they purchased. The MSO will continue its money back guarantee policy for tickets to any concert that does not take place as planned. The safety of audiences, musicians, guest artists and its staff is paramount.

“This program offers stellar showcases of our incredible Symphony string section, numbering some 60 players. We will perform Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings, an immensely popular work inspired by Mozart’s serenades, but composed in Tchaikovsky’s inimitable style so beloved by all of us. The other piece is Edward Elgar’s Introduction and Allegro for string quartet and string orchestra. Elgar was a violinist himself, and this work was written to show off the virtuosity of the string orchestra. For those of you who don’t know the Poulenc Organ Concerto for strings, timpani and solo organ, this is one of his masterpieces. I so look forward to you joining us — joyfully welcoming the Madison Symphony Orchestra back safely to the stage in Overture Hall. I can’t wait to see all of you again.”

– Music Director John DeMain

John DeMain, Conductor
Greg Zelek, Organ
John Jutsum, Timpani
Suzanne Beia, Violin
Laura Burns,Violin
Christopher Dozoryst, Viola
Karl Lavine, Cello

Elgar, Introduction and Allegro for Strings
Poulenc, Concerto for Organ, Timpani and Strings in G minor
Tchaikovsky, Serenade for Strings in C major