Forward Theater Company – The Amateurs
Presented By Forward Theater Company

The Amateurs

Forward Theater Company

Thu, Mar 19 - Sun, Apr 5, 2020

The Playhouse: $20 - $49
On Sale 08/12/19

Thu 03/19/20 7:30 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Fri 03/20/20 7:30 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Sat 03/21/20 7:30 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Sun 03/22/20 2:00 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Wed 03/25/20 7:30 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Thu 03/26/20 7:30 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Fri 03/27/20 7:30 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Sat 03/28/20 2:00 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Sat 03/28/20 7:30 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Sun 03/29/20 2:00 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Wed 04/01/20 7:30 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Thu 04/02/20 7:30 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Fri 04/03/20 7:30 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Sat 04/04/20 2:00 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Sat 04/04/20 7:30 PM

Concluded

In Progress

Sun 04/05/20 2:00 PM

Concluded

In Progress


Notices:

Ages 16 and up

By Jordan Harrison

Directed by Jen Uphoff Gray

Sponsors:

Regional Premiere

Hollis is a performer in an itinerant troupe of actors attempting to outrun the Black Plague in this 14th century-set comedy by the author of Marjorie Prime. The Renaissance is still in the future, and so is the concept of self-determination. So when Hollis stops a performance to wonder why Mrs. Noah would get on that ark, she throws her castmates into chaos.

This thought-provoking and centuries-spanning play delights in the imaginations of theater-makers and theater-goers everywhere. And in a tale as inventive and hilarious as its characters, The Amateurs ponders the purpose of art in turbulent times.”

“…a rollicking tragicomedy in which pratfalls and death throes are tumbled together…”
- The New York Times

Post-show talkbacks follow every performance.

Pre-show lectures on the following dates:

  • THU, MAR 19, at 6:30 PM
  • SUN, MAR 22, at 1 PM
  • THU, MAR 26, at 6:30 PM
  • SUN, MAR 29, at 1 PM
  • THU, APR 2, at 6:30 PM
  • SUN, APR 5, at 1 PM